Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Committee Assignments

There are 21 standing committees within the U.S. House of Representatives. Each of the committees has different legislative jurisdictions and has oversight responsibilities associated with bills and policies as they are prepared for consideration on the House floor.  In addition, committees monitor federal agencies, programs, and activities within their jurisdictions

All Members are assigned to committees by party leaders. Each committee has a chair and a ranking member.  The party currently serving as the majority holds the position of chairman and the party serving as minority holds the position of ranking member.

Representitive Bishop serves as Chairman of the House Committee on Natural Resources and as a Senior Member of House Committee on Armed Services where he sits on the Readiness Subcommittee and the Tactical Air and Land Forces Subcommittee

House Committee on Natural Resources

Due to the abundant amount of federal land in the state of Utah, which is approximately 64%, the House Natural Resources Committee is one of the most important committees to the state. The committee oversees the use, management and funding for all federal lands in the United State and territories.  In addition, the committee oversees issues and legislation concerning American energy production, mineral lands and mining, fisheries and wildlife, public lands, oceans, Native Americans, irrigation and reclamation.  read more here…

House Armed Services Committee (HASC)

The House Armed Services Committee retains jurisdiction of all subjects listed in clause 1(c) of rule X of the Rules of the House of Representatives and retains exclusive jurisdiction for: defense policy generally, ongoing military operations, the organization and reform of the Department of Defense and Department of Energy, counter-drug programs, acquisition and industrial base policy, technology transfer and export controls, joint interoperability, the Cooperative Threat Reduction program, Department of Energy nonproliferation programs, and detainee affairs and policy. read more here...